Biometrics are normally undertaken shortly after the visa application has been lodged. However, this is not a visa requirement that applies to every visa type and it depends on the country in which the person is when the visa is submitted.

What visa types require biometrics collection?

There are several visa types that are part of the biometrics program. Currently, the following visas required people to provide biometrics:

Permanent Visas:

  • Subclass 100- Partner Visa
  • Subclass 101- Child Visa
  • Subclass 103- Adoption Visa
  • Subclass 114- Remaining Relative
  • Subclass 116- Carer Visa
  • Subclass 117- Orphan Relative
  • Refugee and Humanitarian Visas

Temporary Visa:

  • Subclass 400- Temporary Work (Short Stay Specialist)
  • Subclass 403- Temporary Work (International Relations)
  • Subclass 408- Temporary Activity (your Registered Migration Agent can confirm which streams)
  • Subclass 417: Working Holiday
  • Subclass 462: Work and Holiday
  • Subclass 482: Temporary Skill Shortage
  • Subclass 491- Skilled Work
  • Subclass 494- Skilled Work (Employer Sponsored)
  • Subclass 600- Visitor Visa
  • Subclass 602: Medical Treatment
  • Subclass 771: Transit
  • Subclass 300: Prospective Marriage
  • Subclass 309: Partner (Provisional)
  • Subclass 445: Dependent Child
  • Subclass 461: New Zealand Citizen Family Relationship
  • Subclass 870: Sponsored Parent
  • Subclass 500: Student Visa
  • Subclass 509: Student Guardian

Which countries are in the biometrics program?

The following countries are currently included in the biometrics program. However, it is important to point out that the requirement for biometrics depends on where the applicant is when the visa is lodged, and NOT on the country of passport.

For example, the United Kingdom is not included in the list below, however, if  a UK Citizen is on holidays in Mexico at the time when one of the visas listed in the section above, he/she will be required to provide biometrics.


Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cambodia, Colombia, Egypt, Ethiopia, Fiji, France, Ghana, Greece, Hong Kong, Iran, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Peru, Qatar, Russia, Samoa, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonfa, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Yemen and Zimbabwe.

Important Facts about Biometrics Collection

  • Not every visa subclass is part of the biometrics program
  • Not every country is part of the biometrics program
  • The requirement for biometrics will depend on where the applicant is at the time making the visa application and it is irrelevant their country of passport
  • Applicants need to provide biometrics for EACH visa application they lodge, meaning biometrics cannot be reused
  • After the visa is lodged, if the applicant is required to provide biometrics, a request will be autogenerated. You will normally be given 14 days to provide them.
  • Applicants will need to contact a third-party collection centre in the participating country and make an appointment.
  • This requirement cannot be waived, therefore, it is important that you consider where you will be when you are going to make an application, particularly when you are on holidays.

You can find more information about the Biometrics Program on the Department of Home Affairs’ website: